
Student accommodation in Las Vegas is led by UNLV’s residence halls, which are priced from $3,313 to $4,319 for 2026-27 depending on the room, and every hall resident must also buy a meal plan because the rooms have no kitchen. Nearby, the university-affiliated U District offers private apartments, and off-campus renters in Nevada can be asked for a deposit of up to three months’ rent. This guide sets out the published figures and what I could not confirm.
Details come from UNLV Housing and Residential Life’s cost and important dates pages and the Nevada Revised Statutes, checked on 1 November 2026. Amounts are in US dollars. The 2026-27 hall rates are listed without a stated billing period, while UNLV describes its future-year rates as per semester, so confirm what you will be charged each term.
UNLV residence halls
| Room type | Fall 2026 to spring 2027 | 2027-28 |
|---|---|---|
| Dayton triple or quad | $3,608 | $3,825 |
| South double | $3,313 | $3,512 |
| South single | $4,074 | $4,318 |
| Tonopah double or triple | $3,608 | $3,825 |
| Upper Class Complex (UCC) single | $4,319 | $4,578 |
- Who lives where: Dayton is reserved for first-year students and needs a full academic-year contract of two semesters. The UCC is reserved for students who are not freshmen.
- Application fee: $125, non-refundable, though current residents do not pay it.
- Other charges: $100 for improper checkout, $25 to change a meal plan, and a daily charge for early arrival ($60) or late stay ($30). Damage is billed at the cost of labour and materials.
Meal plans are compulsory
| Plan | 2026-27 | 2027-28 |
|---|---|---|
| Scarlet Plus | $3,336 | $3,485 |
| Scarlet Basic | $3,114 | $3,265 |
| Gray Plus | $2,831 | $2,955 |
| Gray Basic | $2,581 | $2,705 |
UNLV lists these by academic year without a billing period, so ask the housing office whether the price is per semester or per year before you work out your budget.
Application dates
- Fall 2027 to spring 2028: the housing application opened on 1 September 2026.
- Spring 2027: the application opens on 1 October 2026, with move-in on 16 January 2027 and charges due on 15 January 2027.
- Fall 2026 (for reference): the priority deadline for a guaranteed assignment was 1 July 2026. UNLV’s page does not give the equivalent deadline for fall 2027, so check it when you apply, since applying early improves your chances of a place.
The dates page does not state deposit amounts or contract terms.
U District and off-campus options
UNLV names U District, which includes The Degree and Legacy LV, as a university-affiliated partner. It says Housing and Residential Life does not oversee its costs, so contact U District directly (liveudistrict.com or 702-735-5315). Because these are private leases, the rules in the next section apply.
Renting in Nevada: deposit limits
Under Nevada law (NRS 118A.242), a landlord may not demand security, a surety bond or a combination of the two, including the last month’s rent, worth more than three months’ periodic rent. A rental agreement also cannot call that security non-refundable, apart from a reasonable cleaning charge. At $1,200 a month, for example, the most a landlord can ask for in total is $3,600. The version of the statute I could read is dated 2017, so check the current text with the Nevada Legislature or a local tenant service before you sign.
What to check before you book
- Room plus meal plan: add the compulsory meal plan to the room rate when you compare costs.
- The contract term: Dayton requires two semesters, so you cannot take it for one.
- Fees outside the rent: the application fee, checkout charge and early-arrival charge are easy to miss.
- Private leases: check the deposit against Nevada’s three-month limit, and read every clause about breaking the lease.
- A signed copy of any agreement: keep it with every receipt.
I could not verify UNLV’s housing deposit, U District’s prices, Las Vegas rents, bus routes or neighbourhood rankings from official sources, so I have not stated them. Never pay a deposit before you have a written agreement and proof that the property is genuine. Before you commit, read our guide to university halls versus private housing, the checklist of what to look for before you sign and our safety guide.
FAQs about student accommodation in Las Vegas
How much does UNLV housing cost?
UNLV lists residence hall rates of $3,313 to $4,319 for fall 2026 to spring 2027, plus a compulsory meal plan of $2,581 to $3,336 for 2026-27.
Do UNLV residence halls have kitchens?
No. UNLV says rooms have no kitchen, so all residence hall students must buy a meal plan.
How much security deposit can a Nevada landlord charge?
NRS 118A.242 caps total security, including the last month’s rent, at three months’ periodic rent. Confirm the current wording before you sign.
When should I apply for UNLV housing?
The fall 2027 application opened on 1 September 2026. The spring 2027 application opens on 1 October 2026.
Sources
- UNLV Housing: residence hall costs
- UNLV Housing: important dates
- Nevada Revised Statutes 118A.242 (2017 version)
All checked 1 November 2026.
