
Student accommodation in Galway starts with the University of Galway’s three campus villages, which together hold more than 1,800 beds and are allocated by lottery, not first come, first served. Demand is high: the university’s study abroad page says all on-campus rooms for Semester 1 of 2026/27 have been allocated. This guide explains how the campus lottery works, the 2026/27 dates, what the booking deposit is, and how to plan for off-campus renting.
Details come from the University of Galway’s campus accommodation pages and study abroad accommodation page, the Residential Tenancies Board (RTB) and a news report on campus rents, checked on 1 November 2026. I could not read current rents on the university’s pages, so this guide does not give 2026/27 prices.
University of Galway campus villages
| Village | Beds | Apartment sizes |
|---|---|---|
| Corrib Village | 764 | 3 and 4 bedroom |
| Goldcrest Village | 429 | 4, 5 and 6 bedroom |
| Dunlin Village (new) | 674 | 4, 5 and 6 bedroom |
All three are on the North Campus. Accessible rooms are available only in Goldcrest and Dunlin. Rooms are for full-time students, with priority for new entrants, on a gender-inclusive basis.
How to apply, and the 2026/27 dates
- No application fee, one application only: you can submit a single application, and applying early does not improve your chances because rooms go by random lottery.
- Booking deposit: €250 once you are offered a room and choose to secure it.
- CAO applicants (2026/27): applications ran from 14 April to 5 May 2026, with lottery offers from 14 May. A waiting list reopened on 18 August and closed on 27 August, and a post-CAO room lottery began on 28 August.
- International new-entrant undergraduates: you need a University of Galway course offer. Reservations opened on 21 April 2026, with room offers sent weekly, and all three villages were eligible.
- International new-entrant postgraduates: Corrib and Dunlin only. Taught postgraduate applications ran from 6 May to 5 June 2026 and research postgraduate applications from 9 June to 14 July 2026. The €250 deposit is due within 48 hours of an offer.
- Visiting students: a small number of rooms. Semester Two applications open in November 2026 (date to be confirmed), and the university says availability is very limited.
I did not find 2027/28 dates on the pages I read. The university’s earlier guidance said applications usually open for a few weeks before the academic year, so check campusaccommodation.ie early in 2027.
What campus rooms cost
The university’s pages say rates will be published on its site but did not list them when I checked. A news report published on 11 August 2025, which does not name the academic year, gave a range from €3,620 for a bed in a shared twin room in Corrib Village to €8,810 for a standard plus double room with a private bathroom in Dunlin Village. Treat that as an earlier-year guide, not a current price, and confirm the figures with the university.
Renting off campus in Galway
If you miss the campus lottery, the university’s Accommodation Advisory Service gives guidance on off-campus options. I could not find official average rents for private rooms in Galway, so I have not given any. Irish law helps with the basics. Under RTB rules, student-specific accommodation deposits are capped at one month’s rent and rent in advance at one month, so you cannot be asked for more than two months’ rent to secure a place. Tenancies should not exceed 41 weeks unless you ask, and a fixed-term student tenancy can be ended for any reason between 1 May and 1 October. Landlords must register tenancies with the RTB, and agents should hold a valid PSRA licence.
What to check before you book
- Use the right route: CAO applicants, international undergraduates and postgraduates each have a different route and deadline.
- Ranking: most applicants can rank up to four room types, so choose them in the order you actually prefer.
- Act within 48 hours: international postgraduates and visiting students must pay the deposit quickly after an offer.
- Back-up plan: because a lottery cannot be gamed, line up a private option in case you do not get a room.
- Tenancy length: the pages I read did not state it, so ask before you accept.
I could not verify current campus rents, tenancy length, 2027/28 dates or average private rents from official sources, so I have not stated them. Never pay a deposit before you have a written agreement and proof the property is genuine. Before you commit, read our guide to university halls versus private housing, the checklist of what to look for before you sign and our safety guide.
FAQs about student accommodation in Galway
How are University of Galway rooms allocated?
By random lottery. The university says applying early does not improve your chances, and you can submit only one application.
How much is the booking deposit?
€250 once you are offered a room and decide to secure it. There is no application fee.
Can international students get campus rooms?
Yes. New-entrant undergraduates with a course offer can apply in all three villages, and postgraduates in Corrib and Dunlin. Rooms are limited, so have an off-campus plan.
Which village is the newest?
Dunlin Village, which the university describes as new, with 674 beds.
Sources
- University of Galway: campus accommodation application information (2026/27)
- University of Galway: campus residences at a glance
- University of Galway: study abroad accommodation
- Residential Tenancies Board: student-specific accommodation
- Echo Live: which college has the dearest student accommodation (11 August 2025)
All checked 1 November 2026.
