Student Accommodation Maynooth, Ireland: Campus Housing Guide

Student accommodation in Maynooth is mainly Maynooth University’s on-campus student residences, which are booked through cohort-based booking events and let under a fixed-term licence for the full academic year. Demand is high, and the university has warned of limited on-campus housing in some semesters. This guide explains how booking and the licence work, what rents were reported, and how to protect yourself if you rent privately.

Details come from Maynooth University’s residences and international accommodation pages, a Kfm radio news report on campus rents, an Echo Live report and the Residential Tenancies Board (RTB), checked on 1 November 2026. The university’s pages I could read did not list rents or deposits, so the rent figures below come from news reports and are past figures.

Maynooth University student residences

  • Who can book: full-time registered students of Maynooth University and St Patrick’s College Maynooth.
  • Licence: a fixed-term occupancy licence, seven days a week, for the full academic year, running from September to early June.
  • Booking events: rooms are booked in events reserved for a specific student group, and you can only book in your own group’s event. The cohort details I read were marked as applying to 2025/26 only, so check the current schedule.
  • International students: the university’s “new international students” group covers non-EU first-year undergraduates and Study Abroad USA students. Other international students fall under groups such as new postgraduates or continuing students. There is a separate group for students with additional needs or disabilities.
  • Cancellations: part of the rent is paid at the start of the year. The university accepts cancellations made 18 days or more in advance, and otherwise charges the full rent.
  • Contact: the Maynooth Residence Office handles housing matters. Study abroad students can also ask the Study Abroad Team about on-campus and off-campus options.

What campus rooms cost

Kfm reported on 11 August 2025 that 2025/26 on-campus rates ran from €4,761 for a single room with shared bathrooms in Rye Hall and Village to €6,353 for a single en suite in River, Rye Hall and Courtyard. An Echo Live report published the same day listed higher figures for Rye Hall, €5,411 for a single with shared bathroom and €7,003 for a single en suite, without naming the academic year. The two reports do not match, and neither gives a deposit or says what the rent covers. Use them only as a rough scale and confirm the current figure with the Residence Office before you book.

Availability

The university’s international accommodation page said that, because of significant demand, limited on-campus housing was available for the Spring 2025 semester. If you are joining mid-year or for one semester, ask early and prepare an off-campus plan.

Renting off campus

I could not find official guidance on private rents in Maynooth, so I have not stated any. The RTB sets the ground rules for student-specific accommodation: a deposit of no more than one month’s rent, no more than one month’s rent in advance, and a tenancy of no more than 41 weeks unless you ask for longer. A fixed-term student tenancy can be ended for any reason between 1 May and 1 October. Landlords must register tenancies with the RTB, and you can check the register. If you deal with an agent, check they hold a valid PSRA licence.

Fraud is a real risk. Kfm quoted the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (CCPC) saying that about a third of accommodation fraud reports come in August and September, and that 34% of victims are under 25. View the property in person or by a live video call, and do not send money for a place you have not seen.

What to check before you book

  • Find your booking event: you can only book when your own student group’s event opens.
  • Know the cancellation rule: cancelling less than 18 days ahead means paying the full rent.
  • Read the licence: it is a licence for the whole academic year, so you are committing to the full term.
  • Confirm the rent and deposit: get both in writing, because the pages I read did not state them.

I could not verify current rents, deposits, residence names and bed numbers, booking dates or private rents from official sources, so I have not stated them. Never pay a deposit before you have a written agreement and proof the property is genuine. Before you commit, read our guide to university halls versus private housing, the checklist of what to look for before you sign and our safety guide.

FAQs about student accommodation in Maynooth

How do I book Maynooth University accommodation?

Through booking events reserved for each student group. You can only book during your own group’s event, so check the Residence Office for your date.

How long is the contract?

A fixed-term licence for the full academic year, from September to early June.

Can I cancel my booking?

The university accepts cancellations made 18 days or more in advance. Otherwise the full rent is charged.

How much deposit can a private landlord ask for?

For student-specific accommodation the RTB says no more than one month’s rent, and no more than one month’s rent in advance.

Sources

All checked 1 November 2026.